Peace of Mind is the Key

Two weeks ago, I went to Rotterdam to hear the Dalai Lama’s teachings and public talk. I was very excited to goand hear him, even if the teachings were too complex for me to understand. I listened attentively and tried to take in as much as I could, however, the most impacting words came at the end during the question and answer session.

Someone asked the Dalai Lama about how to stay healthy and someone else asked about how best to prepare for death. The answer was the same for both: peace of mind. The words were engraved in my mind. Peace of mind. I have constantly strived for peace of mind. Our mind is a brilliant aspect of our self that can beautifully create but can also terribly destroy. I started meditating almost two years ago searching for this peace of mind he spoke of. My inner dialogue was too agitated; I was too agitated. Within the first days of meditating, I saw its positive effect. I was calm. I could focus. I could be me.

I am no expert meditator. I went to a meditation retreat a year ago, and most of the meditations we tried were beyond what I could understand, let alone try. However, I stick to the ones I know, to the ones that go well with who I am today and it helps keep my mind at peace. I can understand why the Dalai Lama would say that we need inner peace for health and for death. We need to be calm, we need to be focused, and we need to accept what is coming without judgement.

2014-05-12 20.57.10

13 thoughts on “Peace of Mind is the Key

  1. Hi Karoly. Whatever helps you attain peace of mind is great. May I suggest you not underestimate your understanding as clearly you cut to the chase and took away what was important. Welcome to the Bloggers Helping Bloggers group !

  2. Hi Karoly – Like Paul, I’d like to welcome you to the Bloggers Helping Bloggers Group – you couldn’t have picked better. As for your post – I have tried meditation many times but probably need professional help in that area. My mind won’t stop. It’s wonderful that you have managed to achieve that – its not easy. Also, congratulations on hearing the Dalai Lama. What a fantastic experience that must have been.
    Lenie

    • Thank you! It’s been a long process with meditation but I feel I am finally getting the hang of it. As for the group, I am very happy. I wish I had time to read everyone’s blogs. They are so interesting and varied! The feedback so far has been great! -Karoly

  3. I love how the Dalai Lama promotes peace of mind. It’s so simple, yet not that easy. I’ve been reading his books for quite some time and still find peace of mind a challenge at times. Best of luck in your pursuits!

  4. I noticed true peace of mind recently when my mother knew she was about to pass on. She was, for the days prior, so calm and peaceful and I believe that in large part it was due to the fact that she knew she had accomplished her goal. To raise three children and to see them all happy and in loving relationships. It was a miraculous thing to witness.

  5. Welcome to BHB – it’s a great group & you will find loads of support. Peace of mind is very hard to attain, and I really enjoy meditation, but for me the hardest part is to maintain a consistent schedule. I like your final phrase – of being able to accept what comes without judgement. Good post:-)

  6. Hi Karoly, what a great experience to see the Dalai Lama in person. Although I’ve never tried meditation, I am sure that peace of mind is the secret for a good life! Speak soon πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

