Commit to a Writing Practice

writing-101-june-2014-class-badge-2

I am the type of person that listens to songs, falls in love with them and has no idea who sings them or what they are called. To me, what matters is the substance within the song, the perfect mix of musical chords and words that are able to reach our hearts.

One of my favorite songs, perhaps THE favorite one is “Come Away with Me” by Norah Jones. This song speaks to the romantic in me. The lyrics are simple:

Come away with me in the night
Come away with me and I will write you a song, 
Come away with me in a bus
Come away with me where they can’t tempt us with their lies
I want to walk with you on a cloudy day
In fields where the yellow green grass grows knee high…

The soothing combination of Nora Jones’s voice together with her excellent music, almost like a lullaby, makes me feel in love even when I am not. Love is simple, love means sometimes moving away, love is being sure of us and ignoring them.

Another great song in my life is a really sad song. Johnny Cash is one of the best musicians that ever lived. He lived it all, did it all, and sang about it all. His song “Hurt” speaks so much to me. At times we drive people away or we are the ones driven away. Loneliness sometimes is too much to live with, and we feel something we do drives others away. The part that truly moves me is this one:

Everyone goes away in the end
And you can have it all
My empire of dirt
I will let you down
I will find a way

I remember listening to this song while I was walking to work during a hard moment in my life. I remember feeling the music and my heart beating at the same time. I felt it in my chest, in my soul. Johnny Cash finishes the song like this:

If I could start again
A million miles away
I would keep myself
I would find a way.

Hurt has a funny way of making us feel like we can’t trust anyone anymore, and yet we move on, and we trust and we find happiness which brings me to my third song, and one that is bound to make me happy and have me dancing. The song “Bonito” by Jarabe de Palo is what we should all think in the morning, afternoon, evening and night.

Bonito, todo me parece bonito. (Nice, everything seems nice to me)
bonita mañana (nice morning)
bonito lugar (nice place)
bonita la cama (nice bed)
que bien se ve el mar (the sea looks so good)
bonito es el día (nice is the day)
y acaba de empezar bonita la vida (and it just started, life is nice)

bonita le gente cuando es de verdad (people are nice when they are true)
bonita la gente que es diferente (the people that are different are nice)
que tiembla, que siente (the ones that shake, that feel)
que vive el presente (that live in the present)
bonita le gente que estuvo y no esta (the people that were here and are now gone are nice)
Bonito, todo me parece bonito. (nice, everything seems nice)
Que bonito que te va cuando te va bonito (Its so nice when everything goes nicely)

We are constantly bombarded with negative news, tragedies, war, fights, disagreements, and we forget that the world is filled with nice, pleasant and happy moments. Waking up with health, having a job, seeing your family, helping a neighbor are all positive moments we should focus on.

So! Have a great day, dance around in your office, smile to the driver next to you in traffic and enjoy the day!

14 thoughts on “Commit to a Writing Practice

  1. Music is a very big part of my life. I grew up listening to different genres of music. I like music to speak to my soul (I workout to music that has no substance at all lol) It is just the feeling you get when you listen to certain songs that make me happy.

Leave a Reply

