Extreme Reading is my Sport!

I must admit that up until a month ago, I wasn’t much of a sporty person. My free time was spent either reading or writing, and I simply saw working out as time that could be better spent reading. When I would go to a doctor and he/she would ask me about what physical activities I did, I simply replied “extreme reading.” Needless to say, most doctors found my remark not funny.

The past couple of weeks I have devoted a lot of my time to reading. I always read, but these past three weeks have been intense. I am devouring books every day, hungry to find the next good read. I have a very long list of books I want to read, and I am happy to be making progress this fast.

One of the books on this list is Haruki Murakami’s novel 1Q84. I remember a friend of mine was reading it and the title captivated me. I wrote it down on my reading list more than a year ago, and I finally got to it. I have been reading this novel for a couple of days now and I just can’t seem to put it down. The novel is filled with so much detail, so much magic, so much plot, and yet every page gives me something new. I’ve read about 70% of the novel (I love that feature in my kindle, together with the reading time estimate based on how fast I read), and I KNOW I don’t know anything about the characters. I have no clue how it will end; I can’t even speculate it will end one way because I know Murakami will change it. I am on the edge of my seat with this novel.

So if you are looking for something interesting to read, keep this novel in your mind. It requires a significant time investment (over 900 pages), but it is worth it. Every novel I’ve read of Murakami has captivated me, but I will admit that few books in my life have had this effect on me.

2 thoughts on “Extreme Reading is my Sport!

Leave a Reply

